How does “Keep these files and folder unchanged when rollback system to another snapshot” work?

Many users assume selecting the “Keep these files and folder unchanged when rollback system to a snapshot” setting will not protect or restore those files, as the description suggests, but that’s not true.

All files and folders on the protected partitions are protected and restored.

This is how the “Keep these files and folder unchanged when rollback system to a snapshot” actually works:

  1. Let’s say you have added the My Documents folder to the “keep unchanged when rollback system to a snapshot” setting.
  2. Today is Friday. You are restoring the system to a snapshot from Monday.
  3. Before the restore, Safecode Defencecure automatically creates a hidden snapshot of Friday’s system.
  4. Then the system is restored to Monday’s snapshot, including the My Documents folder from Monday.
  5. After the restore, when the system is booting up, Safecode Defencecure accesses the hidden snapshot created before restoring and copying the My Documents folder to the current system.
  6. So, in the end, you have the system from Monday’s snapshot and the My Documents folder from Friday (the hidden snapshot), as if the My Documents folder was “unchanged from the restore.”

This design guarantees all files and folders in the protected partitions are protected, there is no vulnerability to protection and at same time it provides user flexibility to keep some files and folder to the current version when restoring to an earlier snapshot.

But as you can see, the “Keep these files and folder unchanged when rollback system to a snapshot” setting involves copying the files/folders from one snapshot to another, so the amount of files/folder being processed could determine the time of this process. It is important to understand how this feature works and only use this feature for a minimum amount of files/folders required.

Powered by BetterDocs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.Required fields are marked *